

### **Scottish Parliament Fact sheet**

# Session 3 MSPs Not Standing or Not Returned in the 2011 Election

6 May 2011

**MSPs: Historical Series** 

48 Session 3 MSPs were not returned to the Scottish Parliament in Session 4. They either did not stand as a candidate for re-election, or they stood but were not re-elected.

This fact sheet is divided into two sections. The first section lists those MSPs who stood for reelection but failed to win a seat. The second section lists those MSPs who were serving at the end of Parliamentary Session 3 (22 March 2011) but chose not to stand for re-election.

Abbreviation	Party
Con	Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party
Green	Scottish Green Party
Ind	Independent
Lab	Scottish Labour
LD	Scottish Liberal Democrats
NPA	No Party Affiliation



#### Session 3 MSPs who stood for re-election in 2011 but failed to win a seat:

MSP	Party	Constituency (C) or Region (R)	
Robert Brown	LD	Glasgow (R)	
Derek Brownlee	Con	East Lothian (C), South Scotland (R)	
Bill Butler	Lab	Glasgow Anniesland (C)	
Cathie Craigie	Lab	Cumbernauld and Kilsyth (C)	
Ross Finnie	LD	Greenock and Inverclyde (C), West Scotland (R)	
Karen Gillon	Lab	Clydesdale (C)	
Charlie Gordon	Lab	Glasgow Cathcart (C)	
Andy Kerr	Lab	East Kilbride (C)	
Marilyn Livingstone	Lab	Kirkcaldy (C)	
Frank McAveety	Lab	Glasgow Shettleston (C)	
Tom McCabe	Lab	Hamilton, Larkhall & Stonehouse (C)	
Anne McLaughlin	SNP	Glasgow Provan (C), Glasgow (R)	
Pauline McNeill	Lab	Glasgow Kelvin (C)	
Des McNulty	Lab	Clydebank and Milngavie (C)	
Mary Mulligan	Lab	Linlithgow (C)	
Hugh O'Donnell	Ind	Central Scotland (R)	
Irene Oldfather	Lab	Cunninghame South (C)	
Cathy Peattie	Lab	Falkirk East (C)	
Mike Pringle	LD	Edinburgh Southern (C)	
Jeremy Purvis	LD	Midlothian South, Tweeddale and Lauderdale (C)	
Mike Rumbles	LD	Aberdeenshire West (C), North East Scotland (R)	
Iain Smith	LD	North East Fife (C)	
Shirley-Anne Somerville	SNP	Edinburgh Northern and Leith (C), Lothian (R)	
Margaret Smith	LD	Edinburgh Western (C), Lothian (R)	
Jim Tolson	LD	Dunfermline (C)	
Karen Whitefield	Lab	Airdrie and Shotts (C)	
David Whitton	Lab	Strathkelvin and Bearsden (C)	
Bill Wilson	SNP	Lothian (R)	

Reference: FS2-40 2

## MSPs who were serving at the end of Parliamentary Session 3 but chose not to stand for re-election in 2011:

MSP	Party	Constituency (C) or Region (R)
Bill Aitken	Con	Glasgow (R)
Wendy Alexander	Lab	Paisley North (C)
Rhona Brankin	Lab	Midlothian (C)
Ted Brocklebank	Con	Mid Scotland and Fife (R)
Margaret Curran	Lab	Glasgow Baillieston (C)
George Foulkes	Lab	Lothians (R)
Marlyn Glen	Lab	North East Scotland (R)
Trish Godman	Lab	West Renfrewshire (C)
Robin Harper	Green	Lothians (R)
Christopher Harvie	SNP	Mid Scotland and Fife (R)
Cathy Jamieson	Lab	Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley (C)
Jim Mather	SNP	Argyll and Bute (C)
Jack McConnell	Lab	Motherwell and Wishaw (C)
lan McKee	SNP	Lothians (R)
Alasdair Morgan	SNP	South of Scotland (R)
John Farquhar Munro	LD	Ross, Skye and Inverness West (C)
Peter Peacock	Lab	Highlands and Islands (R)
Nicol Stephen	LD	Aberdeen South (C)
Jamie Stone	LD	Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross (C)
Andrew Welsh	SNP	Angus (C)

Reference: FS2-40



#### **RELATED FACT SHEETS**

MSPs A-Z Session 3

#### **Contacting the Public Information Service**

For more information you can visit our website at <a href="www.scottish.parliament.uk">www.scottish.parliament.uk</a> or contact the Public Information Service.

#### Address:

**Public Information Service** 

The Scottish Parliament

Edinburgh

**EH99 1SP** 

#### Telephone:

0131 348 5000

0800 092 7500 (Public Enquiries)

Fòn: 0131 348 5395 (Gàidhlig)

Text: 07786 209888

Textphone users can contact us on 0800 092 7100